Financial Aid Scammers!

A girlfriend of mine was filling out her fafsa online when she reached a page that asked for an $80 payment. What? I took a look at her screen and realized she was on fasfa.com instead of fafsa.ed.gov. Holy shit! It’s a fraud!

She said, no way – I’ve already typed in all of my information. Oh no. Please tell me I’m wrong. So, I looked up the domain owner and it’s some chick named Amy. Not the government! Are you kidding me!?!?

YIKES! Be vary careful! People will steal your identity! It’s a huge problem! If you’re unsure about the website you’re visiting, check the “privacy/legal” statement at the bottom of their website. They should say upfront who they are (ex. for-profit/non-government). But the best thing is to check the “whois” on the domain. It’s public information. If it looks fishy – don’t give them your information!

And always check for a secure connection –> https:// not http:// (notice the “s” in the first one).

Related Posts

  1. PayPal’s Secure Cards
  2. Firefox Browser for Students
  3. Want my posts delivered to your email inbox?

1 Comment

  1. Carol
    Monday, February 12, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Good to know! Luckily I already did my fafsa.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*